What is happening to me?

Standard

It’s been awhile I have been on here, but I have been so fatigued. I had an incident yesterday that really scared me. I was wondering if any of you have had this happen…

I was pulling weeds in the yard. I was also taking breaks so I don’t think I over did it. First I got this feeling on the upper part of my arm. It was a burning feeling and hurt really bad. It then started to travel down my arm. It felt like hot razors were slashing my skin. I thought I was going to have to go to the doctor. After about 20 minutes it went away, but the pain is hard to forget.

After another break I finished up. It took about 10 minutes. I started to feel funny. Unstable and dizzy. I went inside and after going to the bathroom I was feeling worse. I thought maybe I needed to eat something so I got a bowl of cereal and while I was eating my body was getting heavier and heavier. My son was sitting with me, 13 years old, I told him to get the blood pressure monitor. By the time he got back with it I could barely hold myself up. Luckily my arm was on the table by the bowl. That was the only thing keeping my face from being in the bowl. My son got the cuff on and my blood pressure wasn’t to bad around 90/56 or so. I was jumping up and down and so was my pulse anywhere between 85 and 135. I could barely talk or open my eyes. I was slurring badly. The kids tried calling my husband and didn’t get an answer so I managed to tell them to call 911. It took a bit for them to translate what I was saying.

The paramedics checked everything and it all seemed ok, but I couldn’t move or really talk. I knew what was going on, but I couldn’t let them know that my mind was still active.

They got me to the hospital and they ran more tests. As usual they didn’t find anything at all. I’m so tired of that happening. At least this time they saw what was happening. I became more alert as time went on, but I could not move my legs from the knee down and my hands were not reacting properly. After a bit I was able to wiggle my toes a little but not fully and it took A LOT of effort.

After 5 hours I seemed to be back in working order. They let me go home since they couldn’t find anything. I was still shaky but could walk and talk normal. I got home and pretty much slept until a few hours ago. I am still shaky today, but I have finally been able to stay out of bed for a few hours. I do feel a nap coming on very soon.

Also for a few months I wake up and before I get out of bed I shake uncontrollably for almost a minute. I don’t know if this has anything to do with it.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Jen,

    I am a wife,mother of 3,student,and survivor. Running across your blog has brought me comfort knowing Im not alone. I had a car accident 8yrs ago which fractured my spine in 2 places (while 3mos pregnant with my son). I had to learn to walk again while carrying a 9lb baby. the pain was always there but several yrs later I was hit with a pain I never knew could be real. I hope you recover soon.

    Lisa – http://neuropathytreatmenthelp.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

