Favorites


Here are a few of my favorite everyday items that I use.

Since Sjogren’s pretty much makes your body shrivel up you have to fight it! LOL! One of my problems is a very dry mouth. Since I don’t produce the saliva needed I have trouble eating and swallowing. I drink a lot to try to relieve the dryness. I have a hard time with anything that is spicy since I don’t have anything to wash it away. This also means tooth paste and mouth wash. Regular toothpaste and mouthwash makes my mouth hurt so bad that I can’t use them at all. Most people get a minty fresh feeling after using them. For me my mouth is in pain and it’s almost like a very sour taste. Sour does not = a fresh mouth at all!

I was using a Biotene Mouthwash. It did an OK job. Recently ACT came out with a new Total Care Rinse for Dry Mouth. It also has fluoride in it to help with my teeth. The ACT tastes great and even leaves my mouth feeling moist for a little bit.

ACT Total Care Rinse for Dry Mouth

Since we don’t produce saliva correctly we don’t have anything to wash away the food in our mouths. Many Sjogren’s patients have bad teeth due to this. So far I have been lucky. From reading it seems that most of them really start having problems in their late 30’s to 40’s. I’m trying my best to keep my teeth! 🙂

My toothpaste of choice is Biotene. It is a dry mouth toothpaste. They came out with the Gentle Mint Gel. This is the one that leaves my mouth feeling the freshest. They have one or two other flavors, but they tend to leave me feeling like I didn’t brush my teeth. Again, this toothpaste doesn’t burn my mouth!

Biotene

Dry eyes are another huge problem. I have to put drops in everyday. My eyes always feel like something is in them. Without the moisture in them the lid just rubs on the eye and can be very painful and if you don’t use drops it can cause damage to your eye. My eyes aren’t as bad as they can be yet. My left eye produces almost no tears at all. My right eye produces a little more, but not much more.

Night time is always hard. More so when I am in a flare. I wake up multiple times a night with my eyelids stuck to my eye. I have to pry them open and put in my gel. The GenTeal Severe Dry Eye Relief is what I have been using. Since I started using it I don’t wake up as often. It does make it a little hard to see so if you play Solitaire on your phone to fall asleep like me you might want to wait to put it in. 🙂

GenTeal Gel

During the day I use Refresh Optive. It feels good on my eyes and it doesn’t burn them. Some of the drops out there burn a little when I put them in.

Refresh Optive

Dry skin is another problem. All of our moisture glands are messed up! Our bodies attack them. I’ve tried explaining to my body that I need those moisture glands, but it just doesn’t get it. Oh well, what’s a girl to do?

On that thought. My face is very sensitive. I’m allergic to many lotions and most of the other ones make me break out like a teenager!  For the breakouts I use Fincea. It works great and doesn’t over dry my skin out. Back to lotions… My daytime lotion of choice is Aveeno Ultra Calming Moisturizer with SPF 15. I have tried others but I start breaking out right away. This one helps me get through the dry times. This past winter I didn’t have any painful dry spots on my face.

Aveeno Ultra Calming Moisturizer

At night I use Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel-Cream. This makes my face feel great! I noticed a difference after a few weeks. My skin was softer and looked much smoother. It says to use it day and night, but it doesn’t have SPF in it so I still use the Aveeno during the day.

Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel

At night I also put petroleum jelly all around my eyes. It helps keep in the moisture better at night. It also moisturizes around your eyes.

Petroleum Jelly

That’s all for now. If you have a great product that you us let me know. I’m always willing to try out something different if it will be a bigger improvement! I’m always looking for ways to “Defy the Dry”!

Leave a Reply

