Types of Migraines


All my tests from the Neuro came out good! I don’t have a neuro disease. He is pretty sure the issues that I am having in that area are from my migraines. I figured that but we had to be sure. He gave me a new medicine to try out. It is Relpax and I have taken it twice so far and it has worked so far. It doesn’t make me sleepy or loopy. I can function as a normal person!

I didn’t realize there were so many different types of migraines out there until I started researching online. It did help me to talk to my Neuro about what was going on. It didn’t even occur to me that many of the issues were migraine related. Here are the types of migraines that I am having…

Migraine with Aura – this is the classic migraine. I see lights flashing around my eyes, get the bad headache, sensitivity to light and sound and nausea. I get these in clusters so I end up having them for a few days to a few weeks.

Basilar Migraine – with this one I have trouble talking. My speech is slurred and I become really confused. I feel like I have been drugged. I get dizzy also. This one happens a few times a year and lasts for a few hours.

Nocturnal Migraine – this is pretty much a regular migraine but it happens around 4 or 5am. It is so bad it wakes me up.

Ocular Migraine – this one causes vision problems. It is almost always in my right eye. It starts with flashes of light and eventually my eye starts seeing fuzzy speckles, like a tv channel with no signal, and it continues until I can’t see out of that eye at all. It usually lasts for 30 minutes to an hour.

Hemiplegic Migraine – this one is very scary. It’s like you are having a stoke almost. The left side of my body was very weak, I lost most of my motor control on that side and that side was tingling. It didn’t bother the right side at all. I had trouble talking and getting the words out of my mouth. I felt like I was pushing them out. This has only happened once, thankfully.

Well, that’s an overview of my migraines. Do you get migraines? If so what types and symptoms?

3 thoughts on “Types of Migraines

  1. Yeah, it was really scary. It woke me up in the middle of the night and I got Stephan up. My Neuro had just discussed it with me the week before so I’m glad I knew what it was, but still. Very SCARY!!!

    Thanks! I love it too!!!

Leave a Reply

