Positive/Negative


I try my best to stay positive in life. Unfortunately it’s not always easy with illness. I started up with a flare last week. It wasn’t bad. Just some morning stiffness that worked its way out after a few hours. This week however, things changed. I was in so much pain that I could barely move. Joints that don’t usually hurt were hurting. This has been the worst flare yet pain wise. Even though I was in pain I was still OK. I could deal with it.

I called my doctor’s office the second day. I left a message that morning. I needed to get rid of the pain. They never bothered to call me back. Before the office closed I tried calling again. The line kept going to voice mail! They don’t close until 5pm, but apparently they don’t take calls after 12pm. Nice! Finally I couldn’t take it any more and called after hours and got the answering service. She put in a call to the nurse. After an hour the answering service called to see if I had received a call… no… so she put in another call. Finally after almost two hours I did get a call. The lady was really nice and told me to go to the Lawrenceville office in the morning. They would work me in. Great!

Now, being in the pain that I was in I did dread the hour drive there. I also dreaded the wait. On a day when I do have an appointment I have to wait two to four hours to see the doctor. I had no idea as to how long it was going to take. I woke up at 4:15am since I couldn’t sleep. I left at 8am. Due to morning traffic it took a little longer than normal. I was expecting that. I was supposed to be there at 9:30. I got there at 9:15. Not bad at all.

I drag myself up to the office and sign in. The office lady looks at me and says we don’t have you on the schedule. I explained that I had talked to the nurse last night and that she had told me to come in. Well, it turns out the doctor wasn’t in that day!!! She was going to reschedule me for another day. You have to first understand that they pull this crap all the time. By that point I was in so much pain and tired and just sick of them doing this so often that I ended up breaking down and crying in the office. I told them what I thought of their staff and that it wasn’t right to treat patients this way. I asked where the other doctor was. She was over at the Duluth office. I asked if I could go there. She called and they said they could fit me in.

Now in more pain and totally frustrated I drove again to the next office 30 minutes away. By the time I finally got to see the doctor I just wanted to curl in a ball and go to bed. I tried to explain to the doctor the issues that I had been having with the staff about calls not being returned and all the other mess. She just smiled and said she was busy and that we weren’t going to discuss that at this time! Really!?! Ugh, so I was the good patient and kept my mouth shut. I got my prednisone  shot, a prescription for more prednisone and some pain meds and left. By the time I left, got my meds filled and got home it was 2pm. I left that morning at 8am!!! I still don’t understand why they couldn’t just call in the Rx. Those of you with chronic illness know that the last thing you want to do during a flare is sit in the doctors all day!

Well, after that ordeal and my short breakdown I am feeling much better today. The prednisone has started to kick in and I called a new Rheumatologist and set up an appointment for the end of the month. This one was just added to my insurance and is only 30 minutes away and I have heard good things about him. Now if I can just get the other office to send my records over…

3 thoughts on “Positive/Negative

  1. It’s amazing to me how doctor’s office staff (as well as doctors) continue to treat patients so poorly. I see it all the time with all different fields of medicine. I am further shocked about the doctor’s complete disrepect of your complaint about the staff. They are “busy” because there is a need for them. Patients need them. It’s sad to see that so many doctors don’t look at patients as people anymore. Really sad. You should file a complaint with the medical board (GA Composite Medical Board) as well as better business bureau. The medical board is strictly for physicians and pa’s. The office staff would fall under the business bureau. The physician is the one person you are supposed to be able to go to file a complaint about the office staff. If that physician ignores your complaint and refuses to even address it then there’s a problem. Good call on switching offices. Good riddens to them!

  2. That’s all just crazy….
    For my asthma meds… usually if i have no refills left.. i put in my order and they fax a form to my doctor and get an ok from him and they fill the order by that afternoon…

  3. I’ll have to look into it Heather. This is not the first time. Last time I drove an hour for a 6 minute walk test to be told they didn’t have enough nurses that day and couldn’t do it. I refused to leave and told them that they should have called me that morning and told me and that they WOULD do the test that day. I guess they figured they didn’t have much of a choice and ended up doing it, but with out much frustration on my part.

    I know what you mean Al. I never have a problem with other doctors. They did end up doing blood work on me so they could check my levels but still they could have called it in and set it up for me to come in a few days.

Leave a Reply

