Fibromyalgia


Well, I went to the Rhuemy yesterday. Their office is so much closer and I didn’t have to wait 4 hours to see the doctor, so it started out well! He was very clear speaking and made sure I understood. He listened to me and asked questions. At one point he asked if I had fibromyalgia. I told him that I thought I did and that I had asked the old doc about it, but that she never addressed it. After a bit more time he told me that he thought I had it also. Yay me!

My SED rates are pretty much always normal when I’m in a flare. Also I have responded really well to Cymbalta, which is for Fibro. Go figure! I just figured it was working for my Sjogren’s. No, it was working for my fibro! Well, learning this gives me other options for treatment. I’m slowly finding things that work and getting back to being a normal person!

He also thinks that my thyroid is messed up. It has always been enlarged and doctors have done the basic test, but it always came back fine. Lately it is showing a little abnormal so he decided to do a full panel on it. If that’s the case that is something else we can work with to make me more normal. So the question is do I have hypothyroidism or Hashimoto’s. ” For many Hashimoto’s patients, the thyroid becomes enlarged, a condition known as a goiter. The goiter can range from slight enlargement, which may have no other symptoms, to a substantial increase in size. ” “Hashimoto’s typically involves a slow but steady destruction of the gland that eventually results in the thyroid’s inability to produce sufficient thyroid hormone — the condition known as hypothyroidism.” I think it sounds more like the second one. I also did a symptoms test and it sounds about right. I guess I’ll find out on September 13 when I go to my next appointment!

I don’t necessarily like finding things wrong with me, but on the positive side I know there are things wrong with me and if we can find out what they are we can take measures to fix them. That’s what I’m all about. Finding a normal life!

Leave a Reply

